FEMA continues to expand individual disaster assistance list in SWGA

FEMA Individual assistance

ALBANY, GA (WALB) - President Trump issued a Federal Emergency Declaration for counties in Middle and Southwest Georgia struck by Hurricane Michael on October 10, 2018.

Second District Congressman Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. said this opens up eligibility for federal disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for all 29 counties in Georgia’s 2nd Congressional District.

FEMA said Monday that six Georgia counties affected by Michael can apply for individual disaster assistance: Baker, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Miller and Seminole Counties.

On Tuesday, FEMA added Crisp, Grady, Lee, Mitchell, Terrell, Thomas and Worth counties to the list.

On Thursday, FEMA also added Calhoun, Clay, Laurens, Randolph, Sumter, Tift and Turner counties.

“I thank FEMA for recognizing the significant recovery needs facing Middle and Southwest Georgia following Hurricane Michael,” said Congressman Sanford Bishop. “As the recovery process moves forward, the full scope of damage to the region is becoming more and more apparent. This amendment to the major disaster declaration will ensure additional communities receive the help they need to rebuild.”

People in all 20 counties may now apply for federal disaster assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from Hurricane Michael.

According to a news release, people in these counties can apply for assistance through one of the following ways:

  • Online at DisasterAssistance.gov
  • Calling 800-621-3362
  • If you use 711 or Video Relay Service, call 800-621-3362
  • People who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585

FEMA’s Individual Assistance program provides federal resources for impacted individuals and households, including financial assistance for temporary housing, home-repair, and damage to essential household items. This assistance also covers disaster-related childcare, medical, and essential vehicle expenses.

After today’s amendment, the full list of counties covered by FEMA’s Individual Assistance program includes Baker, Calhoun, Clay, Crisp, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Laurens, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Randolph, Seminole, Sumter, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Turner, and Worth counties.


The declaration also provides for assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), including direct federal assistance at 75% federal funding under the Public Assistance Program, for Baker, Calhoun, Crisp, Decatur, Dooly, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Macon, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Sumter, and Terrell counties.

It also provides for assistance for emergency protective measures (Category B), limited to direct federal assistance will be provided at 75 percent Federal funding under the Public Assistance program, for Bibb, Chattahoochee, Clay, Crawford, Marion, Muscogee, Peach, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, Talbot, Taylor, and Webster counties.

“Hurricane Michael caused catastrophic damage throughout Middle and Southwest Georgia,” said Congressman Bishop. “This emergency declaration will open up desperately needed resources to help communities provide basic services to their citizenry through FEMA’s Public Assistance program. Although the hurricane has passed, power is out, roadways are littered with debris, and there remain significant dangers to overcome. Further assistance will be needed, but this declaration will allow communities to take vital initial steps toward recovery.”

Additional declarations, including for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program, may be forthcoming. Information on FEMA’s Public Assistance program can be found here. Up-to-date information on FEMA eligibility can be found here.

Copyright 2018 WALB. All rights reserved.