Exchange Club honors law enforcement -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Exchange Club honors law enforcement

Officers of the Year Officers of the Year
Trooper David Fretwell Trooper David Fretwell
DCP Corporal Byron K. Hill, Junior DCP Corporal Byron K. Hill, Junior

Officers from multiple law enforcement agencies in the Albany area were recognized for their hard work.

The Exchange Club awarded officers who wear the uniform proudly and keep south Georgians safe.

Dougherty County Police Corporal Byron K. Hill Junior was honored for saving a family from a burning home.

And Trooper First Class David Fretwell was awarded after ending a standoff with a Lee County man accused of kidnapping his daughter.

"We're not in the money-making business, we are in the life-saving business.  And that's what really is the best thing of all," said Fretwell.

Officials from Albany Police, Dougherty County Police, Dougherty County Sheriff's Office, Department of Natural Resources, Georgia State Patrol and Lee County Sheriff's office were all honored.

The winners are:

Albany Police: Investigator Darryl Jones

Dougherty Co. Police: Byron K. Hill Jr. 

Dougherty County Sheriff's Office: Corporal Jeffery Solomon

Department of Natural Resources: Corporal Bob Holley

Georgia State Patrol: Trooper First Class David Fretwell

Lee County Sheriff's Office: Lieutenant Shawn McTyeire 

Copyright 2016 WALB.  All rights reserved. 

Powered by Frankly