ATC honors GOAL high achievers

ATC honors GOAL high achievers

ALBANY, GA (WALB) - Albany Technical College will hold a banquet today in the Kirkland Conference Center to honor the 2016 nominees and finalists for the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL).

Rick Perkins will be honored as Instructor of the Year, and Exceptional Adult Georgian in Literacy Education (EAGLE).

The 2016 GOAL nominees are: Jeremy Baumgartel (Civil Engineering Technology); Kozman Barnum (Environmental Horticulture); Jameisha Copeland (Practical Nursing); Mary-Katherine Fowler (Dental Assisting); Wyllen Jackson (Pharmacy Technology); Evelyn Jenkins (Culinary Arts); Melinda Medley (Accounting Technology); Ndubuisi Okeze (Computer Support Specialist); Anissa Pait (Medical Assisting); Jill Peterson (Practical Nursing); Norman Stringer (Electronics Technology); and Brittani Whitehead (Medical Assisting).

The 2016 Rick Perkins nominees include: Dennis Courtney (SASET Engineering); Lashea Dancer (Psychology); Rashae Oliver (Surgical Technology); and Todd White (Culinary Arts).

The 2016 EAGLE nominees include: Aliyah Allen (Randolph County); Helen Isom (Clay County); and Rashaad Martin (Terrell County).

For GOAL, four finalists will be announced Tuesday evening. Those four finalists will be interviewed by a panel of judges organized by the Albany Chamber of Commerce in January. The winner will go on to compete at a regional competition in late February.

The winners for both Rick Perkins and EAGLE will be announced Tuesday evening. The Perkins winner will move on to compete at the state competition in Atlanta in April, while the EAGLE winner will compete at the state competition in Atlanta in January.

Copyright  2015 WALB.  All rights reserved.