Lowndes sheriff elected to state sheriff's board

Lowndes sheriff elected to state sheriff's board
Sheriff Chris Prine (Source: Lowndes Co. Sheriff)

VALDOSTA, GA (WALB) - Lowndes County Sheriff Chris Prine was elected Second Vice President of the Georgia Sheriff's Association at its annual convention on Jekyll Island.

The Georgia Sheriffs' Association, Inc. is comprised of 159 elected sheriffs with the support of over 70,000 honorary members throughout the state who recognize and appreciate the service of the constitutional Office of Sheriff and the Georgia Sheriffs' Youth Homes, Inc.

The newly elected officers include: President, Walker County Sheriff Steve Wilson, First Vice President, Peach County Sheriff Terry Deese and, Secretary-Treasurer, Gilmer County Sheriff Stacy Nicholson.

Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle presided over the installation ceremony, administering the oath of office to the newly elected officers.

Georgia Sheriffs are responsible for courthouse security, operating jails, transporting inmates and mental patients, performing traffic and law enforcement functions, registering sex offenders and other duties.

Sheriffs are the chief law enforcement officer of each county and have many mandated responsibilities by state law. As a result of these diverse responsibilities, sheriffs must be knowledgeable of best practices and procedures in many areas.

Copyright  2015 WALB.  All rights reserved.