Gov. Deal requests federal disaster relief for storm -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Gov. Deal requests federal disaster relief for storm


In the wake of the destructive winter storm Feb. 10-14, Gov. Nathan Deal today submitted a request to President Obama for federal disaster relief for the 48 counties where the combined damage estimates exceed $43 million.

The 48 counties are: Baldwin, Bartow, Bulloch, Burke, Butts, Candler, Carroll, Cherokee, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Emanuel, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gilmer, Glascock, Hancock, Haralson, Heard, Jasper, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, McDuffie, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Richmond, Screven, Spalding, Upson, Walker, Warren, Washington, White, Whitfield and Wilkes.

The winter storm brought large amounts of ice, which led to fallen trees, debris and broken power lines.

Georgia's Preliminary Damage Assessment reports an estimated eligible public assistance amount of $43 million.

Copyright 2014 WALB.  All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly