USDA designates 79 counties in GA as natural disaster areas -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

USDA designates 79 counties in GA as natural disaster areas


The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 79 counties as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain that began on April 1, 2013.

In a statement, Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack said, "Our hearts go out to those Georgia farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters."

Vilsack also said that he and President Obama are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a "bright spot" in the nation's economy.

The counties below have received the designation:

Appling Clinch Grady Macon Telfair
Atkinson Coffee Greene Madison Thomas
Bacon Colquitt Gwinnett Miller Tift
Baker Cook Hancock Mitchell Towns
Baldwin Crawford Hart Montgomery Treutlen
Banks Crisp Irwin Morgan Turner
Barrow Decatur Jackson Newton Twiggs
Ben Hill De Kalb Jasper Oconee Union
Berrien Echols Jeff Davis Oglethorpe Walton
Bleckley Effingham Jefferson Peach Ware
Brantley Elbert Jenkins Pierce Washington
Brooks Emanuel Johnson Putnam Wayne
Bryan Fannin Jones Rockdale Wheeler
Burke Franklin Lanier Screven Wilcox
Chatham Gilmer Laurens Seminole Wilkinson
Clarke Glascock Lowndes Taylor

Farmers and ranchers in the Georgia counties below also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous:

Bibb Dooly Henry Monroe Talbot
Bulloch Dougherty Houston Murray Taliaferro
Butts Early Lee Pickens Tattnall
Calhoun Evans Liberty Pulaski Toombs
Camden Forsyth Lincoln Rabun Upson
Candler Fulton Long Richmond Warren
Charlton Glynn Lumpkin Schley White
Clayton Gordon McDuffie Stephens Wilkes
Dawson Habersham McIntosh Sumter Worth
Dodge Hall Marion

Copyright 2013 WALB.  All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly