City approves $35K for multi-mode site review - WALB.com, Albany News, Weather, Sports

City approves $35K for multi-mode site review

Posted: Updated:
Old bus station on Oglethorpe Blvd. and N. Jackson St. Old bus station on Oglethorpe Blvd. and N. Jackson St.
Ivey Hines, City Commissioner Ivey Hines, City Commissioner
Wes Smith, Asst. City Manager Wes Smith, Asst. City Manager
Tommie Postell, City Commissioner Tommie Postell, City Commissioner
  • More WALB News10 HeadlinesMore News HeadlinesMore>>

  • Formal VSU traffic safety study could begin soon

    Formal VSU traffic safety study could begin soon

    Wednesday, April 23 2014 11:20 AM EDT2014-04-23 15:20:15 GMT
    We now have a slightly better idea of when a formal study of the traffic around Valdosta State University's campus could begin. At a meeting Wednesday morning, the Valdosta Lowndes County MetropolitanMore >>
    We now have a slightly better idea of when a formal study of the traffic around Valdosta State University's campus could begin. At a meeting Wednesday morning, the Valdosta Lowndes County Metropolitan Planning Organization discussed the study, among other things.More >>
  • Man arrested for stealing tip jar

    Man arrested for stealing tip jar

    Wednesday, April 23 2014 10:34 AM EDT2014-04-23 14:34:32 GMT
    Timothy Banthongsack was arrested in the below case last night. From: Whitley-Banks, Phyllis Sent: Wednesday, April 23, 2014 4:09 AM To: Whitley-Banks, Phyllis Subject:   22-14-008228  RobberyMore >>
    Timothy Banthongsack was arrested Tuesday evening for snatching the tip jar at Carrol's Meats on Philema Road.
    More >>
  • What you need to know before riding an ATV

    What you need to know before riding an ATV

    Wednesday, April 23 2014 9:50 AM EDT2014-04-23 13:50:06 GMT
    A safety warning following four ATV deaths in Georgia this week.      A man died in Liberty County when his 4 wheeler crashed into a tree.  A woman and her two young grandsons died in Walker County whenMore >>
    A safety warning was issued following four ATV deaths in Georgia this week.   Experts say you should not operate ATV's on public roads. You should wear proper gear such as gloves, goggles,  and most importantly a Department of Transportation helmet.More >>
ALBANY, GA (WALB) -

An indication that Albany's bus station won't move. Tuesday, city commissioners approved $35,000 to review that location as the site of a new multi-modal transportation center.

The city could spend another quarter of a Million dollars on environmental assessments if they decide to move forward there.

The old bus station at North Jackson Street and Oglethorpe boulevard may become the future of Albany's transportation.

"It was to be considered for a train, but even where we're talking about putting, that's a possibility where the type of activities...such as the interstate commerce, we have taxi cabs, we'll have bicycle hookups there," said Ivey Hines, City Commissioner.

City Commissioners will pay for an initial review of the location after declaring it as the preferred site for the proposed transportation hub.

"There's interest in that site because it's close to the central services that are provided throughout downtown, whether it be Federal services, state services, local services...security being right across the street from the police station," said Wes Smith, Asst. City Manager.

The location is also a historic, with roots that link back to the civil rights, and has been supported by the public. But not all commissioners are thrilled about selecting the bus station without first reviewing the other proposed locations.

"But I'm looking at how we're gonna save money for the city," said Tommie Postell, City Commissioner.

"Some of these sites are going to cost more. That's why I asked the question about the multi-modals. There is no multi-modal, we're not looking at it. We're looking at a bus station, that's all."

The state paid $260,000 for an environmental assessment at the original proposed site on Roosevelt Avenue. The city abandoned that location after Native American artifacts were discovered. Now, local money will have to pay for a new study on this site.

"The Commission seems to be headed in the right direction, and trying to expedite the process. So I think the quicker we get it done...the better we're gonna be. As long as we just stay focused," said commissioner Hines.

Actual construction is still so far away, city leaders have no estimate on when it could begin. Commissioner Hines said the old bus station is the least costly option for the city.

The initial review will begin sometime within the next 60 days.

Copyright 2013 WALB.  All rights reserved.  

Powered by WorldNow