Google will delete or pass along your data after you die - WALB.com, Albany News, Weather, Sports

What happens to your data after you die? Google wants to help

Posted: Updated:
A new Google tool gives users the power to decide what happens to their digital assets, including email, photos and data, should they pass away. (Source: MGN Online) A new Google tool gives users the power to decide what happens to their digital assets, including email, photos and data, should they pass away. (Source: MGN Online)

(RNN) - In the digital age, settling your estate is not the only thing many need to think about.

A new Google tool gives users the power to decide what happens to their digital assets, including email, photos and data, should they pass away.

The Inactive Account Manager allows users to enable Google to delete their data or pass the info along to a trusted loved one after a certain period of inactivity - three, six, nine or 12 months. The company will email and text users before deleting the data in case the person is, in fact, still alive.

It only applies to Google's services - Gmail, Google Drive, YouTube, etc - but for many, that's half their internet presence.

"We hope that this new feature will enable you to plan your digital afterlife — in a way that protects your privacy and security — and make life easier for your loved ones after you're gone," the company wrote on their Public Policy Blog. -

You can access the Inactive Account Manager under your Google account settings page.

Copyright 2013 Raycom News Network. All rights reserved.