Posey named MVP finalist - WALB.com, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Posey named MVP finalist

 During the MLB playoffs we told you Leesburg's Buster Posey was a candidate for the National League's Most Valuable Player Award.

The San Francisco Giants catcher learned on Wednesday he is a finalist for the award that is presented to be best player in the National League.

And many analysts believe Posey is the player to beat in the BBWA voting that was completed  when the regular season ended on October 3rd.

The former FSU star became the first catcher in 70 years to win the National League batting title and his team to a second World Series and N.L. West Division al title in three years.

The Giants missed the playoffs last season when Posey missed most of the year with an ankle injury.

He has already won the National League Comeback Player of the Year from MLB.com and the Players Choice Awards.

The other four finalists are Milwaukee outfielder Ryan Braun-who won the award last year, Padres infielder Chase Headley, Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates and Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina.

McCutchen finished second to Posey in the N.L. batting race and won the N.L. Outstanding Player in the MLB Players Choice awards.  


The finalists for the American League MVP are Adrian Beltre of Texas, Detroit's triple crown winner Miguel Cabrera, Yankees infielder Robinson Cano, Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton and Angels outfielder Mike Trout.

Trout is also one of three finalists for the American League Rookie of the Year Award along with Oakland's Yoenis Cespedes and Rangers pitcher Yu Darvish.

Washington's Bryce Harper, Reds Todd Frazier and Arizona's Wade Miley are up for the National League Rookie of the Year Award.

Giants manager Bruce Bochy is up for National League Manager of the Year along with Dusty Baker of the Reds and Washington Nationals skipper Davey Johnson.

The American League Manager of the Year candidates are Chicago's Robin Ventura, Baltimore's Buck Showalter and Bob Melvin of the A.L. West Division champion Oakland Athletics.

The finalists for the Baseball Beat Writers Association MVP, Cy Young, Rookie of the Year and Manager of the Year awards were announced on the MLB Network Wednesday night.

The Baseball Beat Writers Awards will be announced live on the MLB network starting with the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year awards on Monday night.

The Managers of the Year will be announced Tuesday and the Cy Young winners next Thursday.

The MVP awards for both leagues will be announced next Thursday.

Buster Posey will be the guest speaker at the Lee County Transitional Learning Center fundraising dinner the night the NL MVP award will be announced.

The dinner will and tickets be at the Transitional Learning Center on Firetower Road in Leesburg on November 15th.

Tickets are just $10 and special autograph session tickets are $50 but there are a limited number of those autograph tickets.

 Copyright 2012 WALB.  All rights reserved.  

Powered by Frankly