John Mayer Tour Canceled by illness - WALB.com, Albany News, Weather, Sports

John Mayer Tour Canceled by illness

Posted: Updated:

 Seven-time Grammy Award-winning singer, songwriter and musician John Mayer has canceled his recently announced U.S. tour and will take an indefinite hiatus from live performing due to the return of the granuloma in his throat. Mayer was treated for the same condition and placed on extensive vocal rest in 2011. The 18-city tour was to be his first in the United States in two years. Ticket purchasers should refer to their point of purchase for refund details.

Music superstar John Mayer revealed today on tumblr that he has a serious throat problem, and cannot sing, thus canceling his up coming tour.

"During rehearsal on Tuesday, it came to mind that I should see my throat doctor because something didn't feel/sound right. I went in for a visit on Wednesday and a scope of my vocal cords revealed that the granuloma has grown back where it had mostly healed. This is bad news. Because of this, I have no choice but to take an indefinite break from live performing. Though there will be a day when all of this will be behind me, it will sideline me for a longer period of time than I care to have you count down."

His new album Born and Raised will be released as planned by Columbia Records on May 22, 2012. The album's first single—"Shadow Days"—debuted March 5 and is available on iTunes.

"Nothing feels worse than having to break the stage down before the performance, and I mean nothing. I love this band you were going to hear, I love the guys and girls I work with, and the only thing that stops me from devolving into a puddle of tears is knowing that it's a long life, and the greatest gift in the world is being able to create music no matter what the circumstances," wrote Mayer to fans via his tumblr blog earlier today.

Canceled concert appearances include:

Thursday, March 15: Oklahoma City; Global Events Center at Winstar World Resort

Friday, March 16: Oklahoma City; Global Events Center at Winstar World Resort

Monday, April 9: Bloomington, IN; the IU Auditorium

Tuesday, April 10: East Lansing, MI; the Wharton Center for the Performing Arts

Thursday, April 12: Grand Rapids, MI; DeVos Performance Hall

Friday, April 13: West Lafayette, IN (Purdue University); Elliot Hall of Music

Saturday, April 14: Detroit, MI; Fox Theatre

Tuesday, April 17: Orono, ME (University of ME); Collins Center for the Arts

Wednesday, April 18: Providence, RI; PPAC Providence Performing Arts Center

Thursday, April 19: West Point, NY; Eisenhower Hall Theatre

Saturday, April 21: Buffalo, NY; Shea's Performing Arts Center

Sunday, April 22: Wallingford, CT; The Oakdale Theatre

Tuesday, April 24: Richmond, VA; Landmark Theater

Thursday, April 26: Tuscaloosa, AL; Tuscaloosa Amphitheater

Sunday, April 29: New Orleans, LA; Jazz & Heritage Fest

Monday, April 30: Memphis, TN; The Orpheum Theatre

Wednesday, May 2: Kansas City, MO; Starlight Theatre

Friday, May 4: Albuquerque, NM; Sandia

Saturday, May 5: Las Vegas, NV; The Joint

Sunday, May 6: Phoenix, AZ; Comerica Theatre

Mayer was also set to headline Stubb's Bar-B-Q in Austin, Texas, on Saturday, March 17 as part of the South by Southwest music conference. That concert has been canceled as well.