South GA officials endorse Bishop

By Jim Wallace - bio | email

ALBANY, GA (WALB) –  Dozens of South Georgia elected officials stood with Congressman Sanford Bishop Tuesday to endorse him.

On the Dougherty County courthouse steps, Bishop joined with leaders who hold city, county, and state offices in the 2nd Congressional District.

Bishop announced that 71 elected office holders have given their endorsement to him.

"That stimulus money that everybody talks so much about. Dougherty County and Albany got $30 million, and we want to thank Congressman Bishop for his efforts," said Albany Mayor Dr. Willie Adams.

"I believe that the record will reflect that I have delivered for the people of the Second Congressional district," said Bishop.

Bishop has represented the Second Congressional District for 18 years. He faces a tough challenge from state representative Mike Keown from Thomas County.

Endorsing Officials:

State Sen. Ed Harbison
State Rep. Calvin Smyre
Ben Richardson, Solicitor General
John Darr, Muscogee County Sheriff
Alonzo Whitaker, Assistant District Attorney
State Rep. Carolyn Hugley
State Rep. Debbie Buckner
Commissioner Franklin Holmes (Talbot)
Commissioner Freeman Montgomery (Talbot)
School Board Member Austin Taylor (Stewart)
Commissioner Redding (Stewart)
Chairman Chattahoochee Co. Emmitt Moore
Commissioner Kevin Brown (Marion)
Mayor Ralph Brown (Buena Vista)
Councilwoman Gladys Thomas (Buena Vista)
City Councilwoman Evelyn Turner Pugh (Columbus)
Commissioner Patty James-Bently, (Taylor County)
Dr. Willie Adams, Mayor City of Albany
Mayor Willie James Larry (Montezuma)
Commissioner John Hayes (Dougherty)
Crisp  Co. Commission Chair. Arthur James Nance Councilman Randy Hill (Sylvester)
Commissioner John Hayes (Dougherty)
State Senator Freddie Powell Sims
State Rep. Carol Fullerton
Commissioner Jon Howard, City of Albany
Commissioner Al Hurley, (Americus)
Commissioner Lucious Holloway (Dawson)
Councilman Artie Gardner (Dawson)
Councilman Eddie Daniels (Vienna)
Commissioner Christopher Pike (Albany)
City Councilman Melvin Powell (Sylvester)
County Commissioner Tony Hall (Worth)
City Councilman Annette Morman (Baconton)
Co. Comm. Benjamin Haywood (Mitchell)
County Commissioner Albert Ball (Grady)
County Commissioner Dr. Charles Stafford (Decatur)
County Commissioner Charles Renaud (Grady)
Mayor Mary Jo Haywood (Camilla)
County Commissioner Alton Harrison (Seminole)
Mayor Ronnie Ingram (Iron City)
Councilman Mike Spooner (Donalsonville)

County Commissioner Keith Jones (Mitchell County)

County Commissioner Annie Willingham (Mitchell County)

Councilman Deidra White, (Valdosta)

County Commissioner Joyce Evans (Lowndes)

County Commissioner Dr. Earl Perry (Decatur)

County Commissioner Merrill Baker (Thomas)

Councilman David Lewis (Thomas)

Commissioner Dorothy Hubbard (Albany)

Mr. Joe White, Mitchell County Board of Education Chairman

Councilman Luther Conyers (Bainbridge)

State Sen. George Hooks

State Rep. Ellis Black

State Rep. Gerald Greene

Councilman Eugene Edge, Sr. (Plains)

Commissioner Jonah McCluster (Webster)

Councilwoman Juanita Wilson (Americus)

Mayor Barry Blount (Americus)

Commissioner Randy Howard (Sumter)

Mayor Robert Albritten (Dawson)

City Commissioner Roger Marietta (Albany)

Commissioner Andrea P.F. Brooks (Sumter)

Mayor Emerson Lundy (Vienna)

State Rep. Bob Hanner

State Rep. Winfred Dukes

Councilwoman A.B. Jackson Merritt (Plains)

Commissioner Harry Ward (Dooly)

Councilman Lorenzo Johnson (Americus)

Councilwoman Eloise Paschal (Americus)

Councilwoman Juanita Wilson (Americus)

©2010 WALB News. All rights reserved.   Feedback