Thomas County Central High Football

Thomas County High School  - Yellow Jackets                                            
Thomasville, GA

Region:   1-AAAA

Head Coach:  Bill Shaver

Coaching Staff:  Bill Wilhelm, Sam Holland, Bill Hightower, Cliff Heard, Mike Singletary, Buzz Payne, Joe Dollar, Harry Skipper, Dustin Heard

Principal:  Joe Sharp

2008 Record:  8-3

Type of Offense:  Split-Back Veer

Type of Defense:  4-4

2009 Outlook:   

The 2009 season will be the second season under the direction of head coach Bill Shaver.  The 2008 version of the Yellow Jackets finished at 8-3 and a second place finish in Region 1-AAAA.  The Jackets must again this season replace most of the offensive production.  Leading rusher Shawn Bryant, leading passer Taylor Payne, and leading receiver Mike Adams all must replace defensive MVP Dwight Williams along with fellow defensive tackle Lindsey Jackson and linebackers Phillip Williams and Josh Autrey.

The Jackets should be strong on defense if replacements can be found at the defensive tackle position.  Eight starters return to the defensive squad lead by two all-region performers, Chris Shiver at OLB/SS and Caleb Heard at DE.  Other returning starters include Ray Drew (DE), Greg Wolf (LB), Toby Eaton (OLB/SS), AJ Larkins (CB), Draoone Hampton (CB), and Reshard Cliett (FS).  Reshard Cliett was injured and missed all but the first game last season and will be a valuable addition to the Jacket's secondary.  Chris Shiver was the leading tackler last season and his high motor personality will help make the Jacket defense a solid and exciting defense to watch every Friday night.

The Offense begins the season with many question marks.  The offensive line was inconsistent last season and must improve to lead the way in the run-oriented split-back veer offense that Central has used since 1991.  The Jackets do have 3 starters back in the offensive line that include Nick Glass, Ryan Parmer, and Prince Brinson.  The only starter returning in the backfield is RB Curtis Brooks who rushed for 523 yards with 7 TD's.  A big question mark is the very important position of quarterback.  Eric Dodson and Eric McGraw will compete for the job but neither player saw much action at the varsity level last season.  Their development will be key to the offensive success in the 2009 season.  Eric Hollis returns to lead the kicking game should be strong with the return of kicker Griffin Bell and all-region punter Chris Shiver.

2009 Record-





Aug 28




Sep 04




Sep 11




Sep 18




Sep 25

Jones County



Oct 02




Oct 09

Lee County



Oct 16

Harris County



Oct 23




Oct 30

Westside, Macon



Nov 06




   Nov 13 Alcovy 



   Nov 20 Richmond Academy     W   56-7
   Nov 27 Sandy Creek      L   31-17

Returning Starters:

SS:          Toby Eaton                         6'            180lbs                   SR

SS:          Chris Shiver                        6'1"        185lbs                   SR

CB:         Draoone Hampton          5'7"        155lbs                   JR

CB:         AJ Larkins                            5'10"      175lbs                   SR

LB:          Greg Wolf                           5'7"        180lbs                   JR

DE:         Caleb Heard                       6'3"        205lbs                   SR

DE:         Ray Drew                             6'5"        235lbs                   JR

FS:          Reshard Cliett                   6'2"        190lbs                   SR

WR:        Eric Hollis                            5'10"      165lbs                   JR

RB:         Curtis Brooks                     5'7"        180lbs                   JR

OL:         Nick Glass                           6'            200lbs                   SR

OL:         Ryan Parmer                      5'11"      235lbs                   SO

OL:         Prince Brinson                  6'1"        260lbs                   SR

Remaining Football Roster:

QB/WR:                Eric Dodson                        JR

DB:                         Malcolm Franklin             JR

QB/DB:                 Eric McCraw                       JR

WR/DB:                                Eric Hollis                            JR

QB/DB:                 Keshad Peake                   SO

QB/FS:                  Jay Jones                             SO

FS/OLB:                                Toby Eaton                         JR

OLB:                       Cody Carline                      JR

LB:                          Quentin Walker                               SR

FS:                          Reshard Cliett                   SR

DB:                         Roderick Pittman             JR

OLB/FS:                                Chris Shiver                        SR

RB/LB:                   James Davis                       SO

WR:                        Broderick Williams         SR

RB:                         John Freeman                   SR

RB:                         Curtis Brooks                     JR

TE/DE:                   Devontae Walden           SO

DB:                         Draoone Hampton          JR

TE/DE:                   Damien Williams             SO

RB/LB:                   Mac Cason                          SO

RB:                         Lavoyd Reddick                                SR

DB/RB:                  AJ Larkin                              SR

DE:                         Deandra Stacey                                SO

OLB:                       Reece Diers                        SO

LB:                          Dontavious Wilson         SR

LB:                          Greg Wolf                           JR

LB:                          Jamall Choice                    JR

RB/OLB:               Jonathan Esther                               SO

WR/DB:                                Derrick Edwards               SO

DT:                         Kenny Allen                       SR

OL/DT:                  Zach Walters                      SO

OL:                         Tyler Manning                   SR

DT:                         Elijah Favors                      JR

OL/DE:                  Zack Davison                      SO

OL/DT:                  Daniel Singletary             SO

OL:                         Nick Glass                           SO

OL/DE:                  Payton Glass                      SO

OL/DT:                  Ryan Parmer                      SO

OL:                         Allen Johnson                   JR

OL:                         Price Brinson                     SR

OL:                         Mathew McDaniel           SR

OL:                         Zach Shiver                         JR

OL:                         Jacob O'Hearn                   JR

OL/DT:                  Garrett Hanright               JR

OL:                         Joey Morris                        SO

OL/DT:                  Brandon Barnes                                SO

OL/DT:                  Carlton Calhoun               SO

OL:                         Brent Mathews                 SR

OL/DT:                  Tommy Jones                    SO

OL:                         Nick Murphy                      SO

DE:                         Czyz Tubbs                          JR

LB:                          Trent Williams                  SO

OLB:                       Jesse Mayfield                  SO

WR/DB:                                Mark Johnson                    SO

WR:                        Chris Dolford                     SO

WR:                        Julius Reese                       JR

TE/DE:                   Nick Johnson                     JR

DE:                         Malcolm Graham             SR

LB:                          Chris Thomas                     SO

K/P:                       Griffin Bell                          SR

WR/DB:                                Mathew Daniels               SO