Georgia's new child booster seat law goes into effect this Friday.
Troopers don't plan to write tickets immediately, but they expect parents to educate themselves on the new law and put their kids in proper seats.
Starting Friday, children under age 8 must be buckled in a child safety seat or a booster seat like this one, unless they're taller than 4-9.
Highway safety officials say kids in a booster seat are 59 percent less likely to be injured in a crash than those using only a seat belt.
Governor's Office Of Highway Safety Director Harris Blackwood said "We know that beginning right away we are going to see more and more of our six and seven year olds are going to be better protected when they ride in cars on Georgia highways."
Safety officials say children should ride in the back seat until they're at least 13-years old.
Families who cannot afford a booster seat may be able to get a free one through their local health department.
Here are the rules--
Copyright 2011 WALB. All rights reserved