Lowe, Worsham named coaches of the year - WALB.com, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Lowe, Worsham named coaches of the year

By Robert Hydrick - bio | email

ALBANY, GA (WALB) -  Deerfield-Winsdor head coach Allen Lowe and Westwood head coach Ross Worsham have both been named coach of the year in their respective classifications after the two led their teams to unbeaten seasons and state titles.

Lowe led the Knights to a third AAA state title and Worsham led the Wildcats to their seventh and his first as Westwood's head coach.

The all-state teams were announced and Deerfield-Winsdor placed five players on their AAA team.

They are QB Banks Kinslow, RB-DB Davis Moore, TE-LB Rhett Cooper, DL Jordan Funderburk and RB-LB Quentin Heard.

Sherwood Christian RB Javaz Williams and TE Chris Roberts were also named to the AAA all-state team along with Tiftarea's Bobby Mouat and Southland's Colin Holloway.

Westwood placed six players on the GISA Class A all-state team.

The all-state Wildcats are RB Jake Edore, TE John Vereen, OL Carlton Brooks, LB DAniel Hayes, QB Mason Worsham and freshman RB J.T. Edore.

Terrell Academy's Levi Griffin, Adam O'Hearn and Jonathan Farr were named all-state along with Randolph-Southern's Dayton Blanton and Blake Martin.

David Faircloth and Dustin McClendon from Fullington also named to the Class A all-state team.

In AA, SGA's Taylor Tabb, Dillon Driver, Troupe Tabb and Vann Harrell were selected for the all-state team along with Brookwood's Chance Harbin.

Valwood placed three players.

The all-state Valiants are Raashad Mathis, J.B Bahnsen and Rob Blanton.

©2010 WALB News. All rights reserved.   Feedback

Powered by Frankly