Georgia declared agriculture disaster area -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Georgia declared agriculture disaster area

By Ben Roberts - bio | email

ALBANY, GA (WALB) – Farmers throughout Georgia can now apply for federal aid to help them deal with losses from this year's drought.

Monday, Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack designated 151 Georgia counties as primary disaster areas due to this summer's excessive heat and the ongoing drought.

The USDA says farmers in those counties sustained at least 30% production loss.

Farmers in the eight counties not listed in the disaster designation still qualify for low-interest emergency loans because those counties are adjacent to counties that are disaster areas.

©2010 WALB News. All rights reserved.   Feedback


Powered by Frankly