New commissioner in Leesburg -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

New commissioner in Leesburg

By Karen Cohilas - bio | email

October 27, 2008

ALBANY, GA (WALB) - After two months without representation, people in Leesburg now have someone filling a county commission seat. Judge Rucker Smith appointed and swore in Betty Johnson Monday afternoon as Leesburg District county commissioner.

That seat has been vacant since August when Jo Ealum resigned after she joined the Marine Corps. The term expires in December, but Johnson has already been elected to begin a four-year term in January.

She said, "I plan to serve the people from my heart and my convictions. I not only want to serve those in the Leesburg district, I'd like to serve everybody in the county."

Johnson resigned as Tax Commissioner just before being sworn in. Susan Smith, who won the Republican nomination in an August runoff, was appointed to begin the job early since she has no opposition in November.


Powered by Frankly