15 counties in SWGA do not have 911 - WALB.com, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

15 counties in SWGA do not have 911

August 14, 2002

More than thirty counties in Georgia do not have access to 911, half of those counties are right here in Southwest Georgia. Lt. Governor Mark Taylor says that's going to change.

The OneGeorgia Authority board approved a three million dollar budget for a Regional 911 Program.

Lt. Governor Taylor says, "It's disappointing, we're in 2002 and we still have 31 counties that do not have enhanced 911 service in South and Middle Georgia. It's the challenges we face as a region."

Governor Roy Barnes and Lt. Governor Taylor says the lack of 911 service not only hurts citizens, but also economic development efforts.

Powered by Frankly