Georgia federal assistance declaration expanded -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Georgia federal assistance declaration expanded

March 26, 2007

Washington D. C. --  The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that the federal disaster declaration of March 3, 2007 making FEMA aid available to the state of Georgia for Severe Storms and Tornadoes has been amended, allowing additional households and public agencies impacted by the disaster to apply for federal assistance. 

Individual Assistance to households is now available in Dougherty, Warren, and Worth counties.

Baker, Crawford, McDuffie, Mitchell, Sumter and Taylor counties have already been declared disaster areas eligible for FEMA assistance.

Public Assistance has also been made available in Hancock County for emergency protective services, debris removal, and repair of public facilities. Public assistance is already authorized for Baker, Clay, Crawford, McDuffie, Mitchell, Muscogee, Stewart, Sumter, Taylor, Warren, Webster and Wilkinson counties.

Individuals and business owners affected by the March 1-2 tornadoes have until May 2, 2007 to apply for disaster assistance.

SBA low-interest disaster loans are also available for homeowners, renters and business owners.    To apply, call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired, 8 a.m. To 9 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.  

Or visit

Feedback: Assistance


Powered by Frankly