Changes underway for Lowndes County Commission -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Changes underway for Lowndes County Commission

January 23, 2007

Lowndes County - The Lowndes County Commission could be expanding.

Currently, the 504 square miles that make up Lowndes County is split into three districts, with three commissioners and a non-voting commission chairman.

At Tuesday's commission meeting they will vote on whether to add a fourth district and a voting chairman.

The idea has the community split.  "People think maybe 3 or 4 may not be enough but if we add another one there will be people who say we don't need another one and have enough," says Paige Dukes, Public Information Officer for Lowndes County.

If passed Thursday, then it will be forwarded to the legislature to create new and equal districts. From there it will move to the house and if approved will be placed on the next referendum to be voted on by the community.

Powered by Frankly