36ers finalize lease with Civic Center - WALB.com, Albany News, Weather, Sports

36ers finalize lease with Civic Center

September 19, 2006

Albany - We have not heard anything from the South Georgia 36ers since the American Basketball Association announced in July they were placing a team in Albany for the 2006-2007 season.

The 36ers, whose general manager will be Cordele native and former Atlanta Hawk great Wayne "Tree" Rollins, are scheduled to play their first game in just two months according to the league's website.

The 36ers haven't named a coach or announced any player signings but they have been working on securing a place to play.

Albany Civic Center director John Mazzola says the owners of the 36es have agreed on a rental agreement to play at the Civic Center.

Mazzola says he has sent that agreement to the ownership group and is waiting for the signed agreement to be returned to him.

Mazzola didn't want to talk any more about the lease until it has been signed. His contact in the negotiations is Stephanie Roach.

Attempts to reach her or anyone else with the team this afternoon were unsuccessful.

 

      South Georgia 36ers 2006-07 Schedule

 Date  Time  Opponent  Location
Monday 11/20/06 7:05 pm Tennessee MudFrogs Chattanooga, Tn.
Wednesday 11/22/06 7:05 pm Knoxville Noise Albany Civic Center
Friday 11/24/06 7:05pm South Alabama Bounce Albany Civic Center
Saturday 11/26/06 7:05 pm  at South Alabama Bounce  Mobile, Al. 
Saturday 12/2/06 7:05 pm at Tennessee MudFrogs Chattanooga, Tn.
Sunday 12/3/06 4:05 pm Tennessee MudFrogs Albany Civic Center
Friday  12/8/06 7:05 pm at Jacksonville Jam Jacksonville, Fl.
Saturday 12/9/06 7:05 pm at Atalnta Vision Suwanee, Ga.
Monday 12/11/06 7:05 pm at South Alabama Bounce Mobile, Al.
Tuesday 12/12/06 7:05 pm at Tennessee MudFrogs Chattanooga,Tn.
Thursday 12/14/06 7:05 pm Mississippi Valley Miracles Albany Civic Center
Friday 12/15/06 7:05 pm Atlanta Vision Albany Civic Center
Sunday 12/17/06 4:05 pm Knoxville Noise Albany Civic Center
Friday 12/22/06 7:05 pm at Knoxville Noise Knoxville, Tn.
Thursday 12/28/06 7:05 pm South Alabama Bounce Albany Civic Center
Sunday 12/31/06 4:05 pm at South Alabama Bounce Mobile, Al.
Sunday 1/7/07 4:05 pm Tennessee MudFrogs Chattanooga, Tn.
Friday 1/19/07 7:05 pm South Alabama Bounce Mobile, Al.
Saturday 1/20/07 7:05 pm Knoxville Noise Albany Civic Center
Sunday 1/21/07 4:05 pm Jacksonville Jam Albany Civic Center
Sunday 2/4/07 4:05 pm Tennessee MudFrogs Albany Civic Center
Tuesday 2/6/07 7:05 pm Tampa Strongdogs Albany Civic Center
Thursday 2/8/07 7:05 pm at Mississippi Miracles Greenville, Ms.
Saturday 2/17/07 7:05 pm at Knoxville Noise Knoxville, Tn.
Sunday 2/18/07 4:05 pm at Atlanta Vision Suwanee, Ga.
Saturday 2/24/07 7:05 pm Atlanta Vision Albany Civic Center
Friday 3/2/07 7:05 pm at Mississippi Miracles Greenville, Ms.
Sunday 3/4/07 4:05 pm Knoxville Noise Albany Civic Center

       American Basketball Association says this schedule may change