Coaches pick ASU 2nd in SIAC in 2005 -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Coaches pick ASU 2nd in SIAC in 2005

July 28, 2005

Atlanta - Albany State despite all the losses from last year's SIAC champion team are expected to be a title contender this season.

The SIAC coaches meeting in Atlanta for the preseason media gathering on Thursday pick Tuskegee to win the title with Albany State coming in second in the balloting.

Not bad for a team that has won the last two SIAC titles but returns only four starters from the 2004 squad that won 11 of 12 games and made it to the second round of the NCAA Division II playoffs last year.

Albany State head coach Mike White says there is work to be done to replace all of those lost players but the goals of winning the SIAC title and making the playoffs never change at Albany State.

Mike White said "Right now, we are just really trying to concentrate on getting the new guys, getting acclimated to them. What we expect of them and what they expect of us."

Senior cornerback Demetrie McCray "I have got big shoes to fill from last year since I am the only returning starter from last year but I will take it upon myself to get me and the other guys ready so that we will have a pretty good season this year."

The Golden Rams placed three players on the SIAC preseason squad.

Running back Antonio Atkins and offensive lineman Ron Simmons are first team selections and running back Antwan Andrews earns second team honors.

 SIAC Preseason Picks
1. Tuskegee
2. Albany State
3. Fort Valley State
4. Miles
5. Kentucky State
6. Morehouse
7. Stillman
8. Lane
9. Benedict
10. Clark Atlanta

SIAC Preseason Team

1st Team

WR: Jacoby Jones, Lane College
WR: Kenneth Henderson, Tuskegee University
OL: Wayne Jones, Kentucky State University
OL: Ron Simmons, Albany State University
OL: Robert Bailey, Tuskegee University
OL: Bryant Elliott, Tuskegee University
QB: Kevin Huff, Tuskegee University
RB: Taurus Carr, Miles College
RB: Antonio Atkins, Albany State University
TE: Danny Hawkins, Kentucky State University

DL: Jeff Nweke, Fort Valley State University
DL: Johnny Williams, Tuskegee University
DL: Mike Whaley, Fort Valley State University
DL: Gary McCausland, Benedict College
LB: Larry Brown, Lane College
LB: Torres Mozley, Tuskegee University
LB: Larres Curry, Benedict College
DB: Marcus Wright, Kentucky State University
DB: Reggie Ingle, Lane College
DB: Jessie Bailey, Miles College
DB: Quinton Allen, Miles College

K: Stephen Harris, Kentucky State University
KR: Rashod Moultin, Fort Valley State University
P: Sean Reck, Stillman College
PR: Kenneth Henderson, Tuskegee University

2nd Team
WR: Raymond Johnson, Morehouse College
WR: Calvin Russell, Tuskegee University
OL: Travis McCullough, Kentucky State University
OL: Jermel Bell, Miles College
OL: Claiborne Green, Morehouse College
OL: Sherman Childs, Fort Valley State University
QB: Duwuan Burton, Morehouse College
RB: Antwan Andrews, Albany State University
RB: John David Washington, Morehouse College
TE: Melvin Atueyi, Fort Valley State University

DL: Atron Jackson, Tuskegee University
DL: Jason Sneed, Kentucky State University
DL: Chandler Blakely, Stillman College
DL: Irving McGuire, Stillman College
LB: Josh Scott: Fort Valley State University
LB: Harvey Logan: Stillman College
LB: Lynn Freeman, Morehouse College
DB: Cederic Ware, Fort Valley State University
DB: Ramone Nickerson, Tuskegee University
DB: Warigus “Ralph” Prude, Stillman College
DB: Denatay Heard, Stillman College

K: Kevin Flemming, Stillman College
KR: Marcus Wright, Kentucky State University
P: Adam Williams, Morehouse College
PR: Vernon Dozier, Miles College

Powered by Frankly