Demons to join 1-AAAAA -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Demons to join 1-AAAAA

June 9, 2005

Albany-- The Georgia High School Association's reclassification committee met Thursday in Thomaston to announce the region alignments for the 2006 and 2007 school years.

One major change came in Region 1-5-A with the addition of Warner Robins. The Demons, who won the Quad-A state title last year, join Valdosta, Lowndes, Tift County, Houston County, Coffee and Colquitt County.

The only other changes affecting south Georgia schools come in double-A and single-A. In class A, Dooly County, Hawkinsville, Turner County, Wilcox County and Irwin County all move into region 2-Division 'A' as that region is divided into two sub divisions.

Also, Terrell County and Calhoun County move back to region one and Schley County moves to region four.

In double-A, Fitzgerald will be back in region one and Randolph Clay will move up from single-A.

Schools now have 30 days to appeal the alignments if they want to move within their classification to another region.

For a complete list of the reclassification's visit


Powered by Frankly