South Ga. gets damage assessment from Atlanta -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

South Ga. gets damage assessment from Atlanta

September 28, 2004

Valdosta-- South Georgia is working to recover from hurricane number four, with help from the governor.

"Its another great example of the spirit of America pulling together and helping one another," said Gov. Sonny Perdue.

We are still under a state of emergency because of all the flooding and damage and to prevent price gouging. Governor Perdue was in Lowndes CountyTuesday, surveying the damage Tropical Storm Jeanne left behind.

He took an aerial tour of the area and visited Chadwick subdivision, an area hit hard by the storm. Early Monday morning, people living there had to evacuate their homes because of flooding. Tuesday, Perdue got a close look at the damage to some of the homes and met with home owners.

He also saw the devastation the recent storms caused to South Georgia crops. The governor hopes to get federal assistance for the area. "It's pretty significant, the damage there. We'll be taking it to the USDA through those assessments and also lobbying congress for appropriations to help those farmers who've been damaged" said Perdue.

State Insurance Commissioner John Oxendine was also in Lowndes County to see the storm damage.

Georgia has received approval from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for adding 23 counties to a federal disaster declaration in response to the impact of Hurricane Frances.

This follows approval of the original federal disaster declaration for the tropical system that included 56 counties. “This is welcomed news, particularly for the counties in this group that are also responding to and recovering from the recent impact of Tropical Storm Jeanne,” said Governor Perdue. “We are grateful that federal funding is available to assist these local governments.”

The amended Frances federal disaster declaration includes the following counties: Baker, Bleckley, Calhoun, Camden, Dougherty, Emanuel, Grady, Hancock, Harris, Hart, Jeff Davis, Lanier, Long, McIntosh, Pike, Taliaferro, Toombs, Treutlen, Ware, Wayne, Webster, Wilcox, and Worth.

Local governments in these counties will now be eligible to apply for public infrastructure assistance.

For more information on federal disaster assistance, visit FEMA’s website at or GEMA’s storm recovery website at .

posted at 6:05PM by

Powered by Frankly