Lowndes, Valdosta set the pace for South Central Georgia - WALB.com, Albany News, Weather, Sports

Lowndes, Valdosta set the pace for South Central Georgia

  • More WALB News10 HeadlinesMore News HeadlinesMore>>

  • Man arrested for stealing tip jar

    Man arrested for stealing tip jar

    Wednesday, April 23 2014 10:34 AM EDT2014-04-23 14:34:32 GMT
    Timothy Banthongsack was arrested in the below case last night. From: Whitley-Banks, Phyllis Sent: Wednesday, April 23, 2014 4:09 AM To: Whitley-Banks, Phyllis Subject:   22-14-008228  RobberyMore >>
    Timothy Banthongsack was arrested Tuesday evening for snatching the tip jar at Carrol's Meats on Philema Road.
    More >>
  • What you need to know before riding an ATV

    What you need to know before riding an ATV

    Wednesday, April 23 2014 9:50 AM EDT2014-04-23 13:50:06 GMT
    A safety warning following four ATV deaths in Georgia this week.      A man died in Liberty County when his 4 wheeler crashed into a tree.  A woman and her two young grandsons died in Walker County whenMore >>
    A safety warning was issued following four ATV deaths in Georgia this week.   Experts say you should not operate ATV's on public roads. You should wear proper gear such as gloves, goggles,  and most importantly a Department of Transportation helmet.More >>
  • Daycare providers face deadline

    Daycare providers face deadline

    Wednesday, April 23 2014 9:15 AM EDT2014-04-23 13:15:14 GMT
    The close of business today is the registration deadline for Bright from the Start. The Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning (DECAL) has posted application packages for new and returning providersMore >>
    The close of business today is the registration deadline for Bright from the Start. The purpose of the program is to prepare children for success in Kindergarten and later school years. Programs are offered at local public schools or through private providers of preschool services.More >>

May 20, 2004

Valdosta-- The Seminole and the Creek Indians were the first settlers of what eventually became Lowndes County. The County was created in 1825 by cutting Irwin County into two parts, and was named for South Carolina lawyer William Jones Lowndes.

The city of Valdosta, the county seat, was founded in 1860 by residents of Troupville, Georgia. The stately courthouse, built in 1905, is now on the National Register of Historic Places.

In its early days, Valdosta was the center of long-staple cotton growing in the United States. Today, Valdosta has a population of nearly 44,000, and is a commercial center of south Georgia with numerous manufacturing plants. The surrounding area produces tobacco, turpentine, pine lumber, and pulpwood.

Lowndes County is also home to Moody Air Force Base. And there's an interesting story about how Moody was established. In 1940, a group of concerned Valdosta and Lowndes County citizens began looking for a way to assist the expanding defense program. They rallied interest in the War Department for a 9,300 acre tract known as the Lakeland Flatwoods Project.

On May 14, 1941, the War Department was granted exclusive use of the land by the Agriculture Department. February 1942, the Moody Field Advanced Pilot Training School began training 50 Army Air Corps cadets in the Beech AT-10.

Moody is now home to the 347th Rescue Wing, which trains and employs a combat-ready, HC-130 and HH-60 rescue aircraft. The base has approximately 3,700 military and 339 civilian employees and an annual economic impact of $283 million.

The base was named in memory of Maj. George Putnam Moody, an early Air Force pioneer killed in May 1941.

The federal government designated the city as a metropolitian statistical area in June 2003. That means more federal and state money for the city and the opportunity to attract lots of new business.

"The entire community will have access to funding for infrastructure that we've haven't qualified for in the past," said Chamber Board ChairmanJud Rackley. "Of course, as our infrastructure and everything improves, that's going to be a benefit to our businesses."

"We're extremely well diversified,"  said Chamber President Myrna Ballard. "We're the largest community within about a ten county area, so that makes us a logical place to be a regional shopping center, a regional center for health services, transportation. We just have had all good things working in our favor."

Cities must have at least 50,000 residents to qualify as metro areas. The Valdosta Metropolitan Statistical Area Includes Lowndes, Lanier, Brooks And Echols Counties.

posted at 12:50PM by dave.miller@walb.com

Powered by WorldNow