Twelve schools denied realignment -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Twelve schools denied realignment

July 17, 2003

(Thomaston-AP) -- The Georgia High School Association has refused the requests of 12 schools that resisted a statewide realignment plan, but it granted the appeals of three schools.

Peachtree Ridge, a new school opening in Gwinnett County, will be moved from Region 8-AAAAA to Region 7-AAAAA so it can play against natural rivals Collins Hill, North Gwinnett and Duluth. Stone Mountain High School won its appeal to play in Region 5-AAAA instead of 6-AAAA, and Social Circle High School will play in Region 8-A instead of Region 7-A.

The 12 schools that lost their realignment appeals are Sprayberry, Etowah, Westminster, Westlake, The Walker School, Providence Christian Academy, Greater Atlanta Christian, Wesleyan, Oglethorpe County, Mount Paran Christian, Mount Zion and Temple.

Posted by

Powered by Frankly