Albany Sports Hall of Fame inducts six in 2010 class -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Albany Sports Hall of Fame inducts six in 2010 class

By Joey Donia - bio | email

ALBANY, GA (WALB) -Six Albany legends were inducted into the 2010 Albany Sports Hall of Fame class at the 24th annual induction ceremony on Monday.

Ernest W. Benson was inducted for officiating along with former Albany High football star Jerry Doyal, Albany gymnastics legend Margot Todd Evans, former Albany High football and baseball star William Steven Heidt, former Monroe Football star Emarlos Leroy, and former Westover cross country and track star Charles Jason Willcox.

Auburn defensive line coach Tracy Rocker was the guest speaker and the former Lombardi Trophy winner shared an inspiring speech hoping to motivate Albany's youth.

"Today everyone is scared to put both feet in because it requires effort and a lot of work and everybody thinks you're supposed to get paid early. It doesn't matter. Just work hard and eventually you're going to get paid off" said Rocker.

WALB Sports Director Robert Hydrick was the master of ceremonies. Following the induction ceremony seven High School preps were recognized with athlete of the year honors; Sherwood Christian's Dontavious Brown, Albany High's Jarvis Hicks, Byne Christian's Hannah Hughes, Monroe's Lakeisha Jackson, Westover's Jonta Jones, Dougherty's Arabian Williams, and Deerfield Windsor's Tony Zenon.


Powered by Frankly