Farmers in 88 Georgia counties eligible for aid -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Farmers in 88 Georgia counties eligible for aid

By Wainwright Jeffers - bio | email

ALBANY, GA (WALB) - The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 60 Georgia counties as disaster areas because of extreme weather conditions since March damaged crops.

The designation in response to the governor's requests submitted in April and July.

The designation means that farmers in the 60 counties, as well as 28 adjoining counties, are eligible for low-interest USDA loans.

The 60 counties are:

Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Brantley, Brooks, Bryan, Calhoun, Candler, Chatham, Clay, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Crawford, Crisp, Decatur, Dooly, Dougherty, Early, Echols, Effingham, Houston, Jeff Davis, Lamar, Lanier, Long, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Miller, Mitchell, Monroe, Montgomery, Peach, Pierce, Pike, Quitman, Randolph, Seminole, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Taylor, Terrell, Tift, Thomas, Toombs, Treutlen, Turner, Upson, Ware, Wayne, Webster, Wilcox and Worth.

In addition, farmers are eligible for assistance in 28 other Georgia counties that have been named as contiguous disaster areas.

The 28 counties are:

Bleckley, Bulloch, Butts, Camden, Chattahoochee, Charlton, Dodge, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Grady, Irwin, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Laurens, Lee, Liberty, McIntosh, Meriwether, Pulaski, Screven, Spalding, Talbot, Tattnall, Telfair, Twiggs and Wheeler.

For more information, visit


©2009 WALB News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly