More Ga. counties eligible for federal disaster assistance -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

More Ga. counties eligible for federal disaster assistance

Information from:

ATLANTA - Additional Georgia counties have been designated as eligible for federal assistance to help with recovery from storms and flooding in late March and early April, officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today.

Ben Hill, Camden, Montgomery and Tatnall counties were added for FEMA's Individual Assistance Program that helps homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes.  This brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to 21.

Brantley, Lee, McIntosh and Seminole counties were added for FEMA's Public Assistance program that helps eligible state, local and tribal governments and eligible non-profits cover costs for emergency response as well as for repair and rebuilding of roads, buildings, and other infrastructure and facilities.

The total number of Georgia counties now designated for Public Assistance is 45.

Individual Assistance

For individuals in Ben Hill, Camden, Montgomery and Tatnall counties, federal help may include grants to pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration may be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Individuals may register for assistance online at or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585. The toll-free numbers are available seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time.  Help in all languages is available.

When registering, applicants should have the following information readily available:

Current and pre-disaster address;
Current telephone numbers;
Directions to the damaged property;
Social Security number, if available; and For those with insurance, policy number(s) and agent's name if possible.

Public Assistance

Federal Public Assistance grants now available in 45 counties help pay for emergency protective measures such as police overtime, debris clearance to open vital roads and rights-of-way, removal of threats to public safety and permanent repairs to roads, public buildings, utilities, parks and recreation. Permanent work involves restoring infrastructure to its pre-disaster design. This could range from minor repairs to total replacement.

The federal share of the costs is 75%, with the remaining share coming from local and state government.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan.

However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

Powered by Frankly