Blazers put dozen on all conference teams -, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Blazers put dozen on all conference teams

November 25, 2002

Valdosta State dominated the Gulf South Conference post season awards in the same manner they dominated on the field this season.

Head coach Chris Hatcher won his third straight coach of the year award and Aaron Jenkins was named the conference's offensive player of the year and senior nose guard Dewayne Smith wins the defensive player of the year.

The Blazers had six players earn first team all-conference honors.

Senior tight end C.J. Lofton from Valdosta is an all-conference pick for a third straight year and running back Aaron Jenkins and wide receiver Reggie Mosley are repeat all-conference honors.

Sophomore quarterback Buster Faulkner is the first team quarterback and offensive tackle Chance Hutto from Bainbridge and sophomore guard Torrey Howard are also first time All-Gulf South Conference selections.

Valdosta State's defense had six players earn all conference honors. Dewayne Smith, LB Tabious Carter and DB Ced Dickerson are first team picks.

DL Reggie Rhodes and linebackers Jason Cost and Marlin Adams are second team selections.

Former Monroe High star Anthony Maddox was a first team selection on the defensive line in his return to football this season at Delta State. Pelham's Travis Williams is also a first team all-conference performer as a defensive back at West Georgia.

Valdosta State, ranked second in the division II, will host Carson-Newman Saturday afternoon at 1pm at Bazemore-Hyder Stadium. The Blazers can advance to the D-II semi-finals for the first time in school history with a win this week.

Powered by Frankly