Federal assistance now available - WALB.com, South Georgia News, Weather, Sports

Federal assistance now available

Federal disaster aid is now available to many south Georgians and local governments hit by recent weather damage.

Thursday night, President Obama declared a major disaster in Georgia.

The declaration makes federal money available for individuals in 17 counties:  Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Coffee, Colquitt, Decatur, Dougherty, Echols, Lanier, Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell, Pierce, Tift, Ware, Wheeler, and Worth counties.

Assistance includes grants for temporary housing and home repairs and loans to cover uninsured losses.

Local governments in 18 counties are eligible help paying for debris removal, emergency work and repair of public facilities:  Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Ben Hill, Berrien, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Early, Echols, Grady, Lowndes, Mitchell, Montgomery, Pierce, Toombs, and Ware counties.

The declaration covers a series of severe storms, flooding and tornadoes that hit south Georgia beginning on March 26th.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance tomorrow.

Call FEMA at 1-(800)-621-FEMA (3362).

You can also visit FEMA's Web site at http://www.DisasterAssistance.gov.


Powered by Frankly