FEMA opens more Disaster Recovery Centers adjusts hours of operations

They have been added to multiple counties

FEMA opens more Disaster Recovery Centers adjusts hours of operations

ALBANY, GA (WALB) - Disaster Recovery Centers opened Saturday, Oct. 20, in Dougherty, Early, Miller, and Seminole counties, to help residents through the assistance process after damage and losses suffered during Hurricane Michael. More DRCs have continued to open as FEMA has expanded its presence in Southwest Georgia to assist with recovery efforts.

On Nov. 7, FEMA announced a minor adjustment to the hours the DRCs will be open along with more locations opening in Southwest Georgia to help expedite recovery assistance for those affected by Hurricane Michael.

Representatives from the State of Georgia, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are at the center to answer questions about disaster assistance and low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and businesses. They can also help survivors apply for federal disaster assistance.


Hours of operation at the centers have changed to the following:

  • Mon – Sat.: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.  
  • Sunday: 1 p.m. to 7 p.m. 

The following locations will be serving as Disaster Recovery Centers:

Baker County

  • Baker County Senior Center, 439 Hwy. 91, Newton, GA 39870

Calhoun County

  • Morgan City Hall, 54 Court Street, Morgan, GA 39866

Clay County

  • Georgia Department of Human Services, Division of Family and Children Services (DFCS), 200 Wilson Street (Senior Citizen Community Center), Fort Gaines, GA 39851   

Crisp County

  • Farm Service Agency Crisp County/UGA Extension Office, 110 West 13th Avenue, Cordele, GA 31015

Decatur County

  • Decatur County Memorial Coliseum, 600 South Wheat Avenue, Bainbridge, GA 39819

Dougherty County

  • Dougherty County Schools Technology Office, 300 Cason Street, Albany, GA 31705
  • Albany technical College’s Kirkland Hall, 1704 South Slappey Boulevard, Albany, GA 31701

Early County

  • Early County Alternative School, 544 Howell Street, Blakely, GA 39823

Grady County

  • Grady County Agricultural Center, 65 11th Avenue Northeast, Cairo, GA 39828 

Lee County

  • Century Fire Station, 934 U.S. Highway 19 South, Leesburg, GA 31763

Miller County

  • First Baptist Church, 351 East Pine Street, Colquitt, GA 39837

Mitchell County

  • Mitchell County Emergency Medical Service Building, 4767 U.S. Highway 37, Camilla, GA 31730

Randolph County

  • Randolph County Chamber of Commerce (Old County Courthouse), 51 Court Street, Cuthbert, GA 39840 

Seminole County

  • Spring Creek Baptist Church, 2635 Hwy. 253, Donalsonville, GA 39845
  • Spring Creek Baptist Church, 2635 U.S. Highway 253, Donalsonville, GA 39845

Sumter County

  • Georgia National Guard Armory, 901 Adderton Street, Americus, GA 31719 

Terrell County

  • Terrell County Courthouse/Judge’s Chamber, 499 Roundtree Dr. SW, Dawson, GA 39842

Thomas County

  • Emergency Operations Center/Firestation #3 (in front of the YMCA), 1202 Remington Avenue, Thomasville, GA 31792

Tift County

  • Tift County Special Programs Building, 202 Baldwin Drive, Tifton, GA 31794

Turner County:

  • Turner County Civic Center, 354 Lamar Street, Ashburn, GA 31714 

Worth County

  • Worth County Community Center, 1301 North Monroe Street, Sylvester, GA 31791

It is not necessary to visit a center to register for and receive federal disaster assistance. To be eligible for federal aid under FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program, damage must have occurred because of Hurricane Michael on October 8, 2018 and continuing.

If possible, survivors should register with FEMA before visiting a recovery center. Residents in Baker, Crisp, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Terrell, Thomas and Worth counties, can register for assistance by the following methods:

  • The quickest way to apply for federal assistance is  online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov .
  • Survivors may also apply by phone at 800-621-3362 or  800-462-7585 (TTY).
  • The toll-free numbers are open from 7 a.m. to  11 p.m. ET, seven days a week.

Find out what to expect after applying for FEMA:

(Source: FEMA)
(Source: FEMA)
(Source: FEMA)
(Source: FEMA)

Copyright 2018 WALB. All rights reserved.